Reflections

This is a short project I did in my first year studying architecture where we were told to find our own site and to investigate some kind of ‘boundary condition’.

So, a site anywhere in London! Anywhere you say? Well, I ended up choosing my living room and the door to the terrace. It just meant that I could be on ‘site’ a lot more and work a lot harder, I’m sure you understand. Nothing to do with not wanting to travel far or anything!

 

Initial idea, and two photos – one taken during the day and one at night.

My idea was to look at inside and outside space through my terrace door, and more specifically through the glass boundary through reflections. As the day progresses light outside gets darker of course and as a result the view towards the outside terrace and the sculpture I put there is gradually replaced with the reflected view of the inside of the room, where I was there taking photos every 15 minutes.

My interest was really to do with seeing the glass as a 2d space where the two opposite ends combine. I wanted to imagine what that flat space would look like if you were to expand it. That’s the final image which shows this hybrid space. Unfortunately, that’s the only image I could find so it will have to do. So, essentially, the end result is a collision of the two worlds on either side of the glass.

  
Sample of sketches that I made during the day. There was a set of about 40 different photos and drawings I think.
and another panel.
  1. August 7, 2011 at 12:26

    I love window reflections and the way worlds collide in the pane of glass. Fascinating project.

  2. Kal
    August 7, 2011 at 12:37

    Thank you, there were so many more drawings that are now lost – of the statue and then a reflection of me at the end of the day.

    Thanks for the perfect word. The two spaces “collide” at the boundary. I’ve been trying to think of a good word for it all morning. 🙂

  3. August 7, 2011 at 12:43

    Neil Finn should get the credit for the “two worlds collide” quote. I just borrowed. Glad I could help, though!

    • Kal
      August 7, 2011 at 13:06

      Had to google him. Of course, he’s the frontman to Crowded House! I remember him now.

      Also, there’s a 1950’s B Movie called “When Worlds Collide” that I’ve been meaning to watch for a long while. It’s literally about another planet hitting ours.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment