Home > Architecture, London, Photography > Peter Zumthor Pavilion

Peter Zumthor Pavilion

  
 
 
  

I finally had time to go visit the Peter Zumthor pavilion in Hyde Park and it really did not disappoint. I had read a number of negative reactions by experts who said that it did not live up to the expectations. I completely disagree.

As I was approaching it my initial reaction was that it reminded me of the monolith in the film 2001. Somehow you were not supposed to come close to it but for some reason it did feel inviting. Maybe it was the wavy pathway leading into the 6 openings that puts you inside a thin long corridor that frames the entire rectangular structure. Or maybe it was the number of children there who was playing hide and seek and running in and out of the doorways that made it seem fun.

When I entered I was struck by just how dark it looked esepecially on day like today! It was difficult to see anything and I had to give it a minute for my eyes to adjust. I was actually very surprised later on by my own photos when I noticed all the detail that was hidden. As you go around this corridor there were I think two openings that take you inside where you see a hidden garden with seating all around, and again, lots of families and friends chatting away and enjoying the flowers and plants (By Dutch landscape designer Piet Oudolf). I remember seeing an interview by Zumthor where he said that he gave Oudolf complete freedom to do whatever he wanted without instruction and the result was this wild, varied mass of plants. I think it really contrasts well with the clean and minimalist approach taken by Zumthor.

So yes, in short, it was great!

  1. August 21, 2011 at 11:38

    Fantastic! I love the corridor shots. You’re right, the curves of the paths and the wildness of the garden does seem to balance and enhance the lines of the structure itself.

    • Kal
      August 21, 2011 at 11:57

      Thank you. 🙂
      I was so glad that the corridor shots came out the way they did. It was literally pitch black in there. I took some readings from the wall before taking the photos so that helped a bit.

      I really did love this pavilion. It’s probably the best one I’ve been to at the Serpentine gallery.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment